1. Skip to content

Clubs, individuals and volunteers recognised at inaugural LRS Celebration Evening

Posted: Mon, 13 Feb 2017 09:26

Clubs, individuals and volunteers recognised at inaugural LRS Celebration Evening

Leicester-Shire & Rutland Sport's (LRS) inaugural Celebration Evening was a huge success, as local sport and physically active champions were heralded at the Leicester Arena on Thursday 9th February 2017.

Held in partnership with De Montfort University, 10 awards were presented throughout the course of the evening with groups and individuals hailed for their tireless dedication to making local sport and activities happen.

Hosted by local sport and physical activity advocate Gaynor Nash and BBC Radio Leicester's Ian Stringer, the Celebration saw some of the finest coaches, teachers, individuals and groups recognised for their efforts.

The evening acted as a way to celebrate the significant impact that sport and physical activity has made to improve people's lives, through the work of LRS and its partners. The breadth of work undertaken by LRS and in partnership with all local authorities, schools, national governing bodies of sport and the voluntary sector, to make sport and physical activity more accessible was showcased.

LRS Chair Andy Reed OBE got the evening underway, telling the audience:

"Tonight will celebrate the hard work and achievements of schools, clubs, community organisations and volunteers operating in Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland. Tonight will certainly give you a great idea of the range of work Leicester-Shire & Rutland Sport and its partners are involved in."

It wasn't just about the awards though, with performances adding to the atmosphere. Nether Hall School were the first to take to the stage, wowing the crowd with their Grease Lightnin' performance. And they were followed by Oaklands School, whose Hairspray themed dance was equally entertaining. And the action didn't stop there, with a Clubbercise session getting everyone out of their seats and familiar with a glowstick!

The success stories of individuals helped to encapsulate the night, with feats of endurance and dedication to sport and physical activity heard. These included the Peter Walker Memorial Award winner Mick Ballard, who continues his 30 years of service to Barrow Runners in spite of suffering a stroke and seizure in 2016.

With previous GO GOLD Ambassadors Grace Garner (currently of Wiggle High5 Cycling) and Jonny Walton (Team GB athlete at the 2016 Rio Olympics) both on hand for a short Q&A and photo opportunities, both young and old got the chance to meet two of the area's finest sporting talents.

The night was hosted in partnership with De Montfort University. DMU's Director of Strategic Partnerships, Sarah Thomson, attended the Celebration and said:

"De Montfort University is delighted to work closely with Leicester-Shire & Rutland Sport. Through #DMUlocal, some of the hardest-to-reach groups are engaged in projects that focus on the three core lenses of education, health and regeneration. By working alongside various organisations, #DMUlocal offers a wide range of exciting projects that meet the needs of communities and have a transformative impact."

Matthew Crackell, organiser of the inaugural Celebration from LRS, said:

"We are all delighted with the inaugural LRS Celebration Evening and the work of the LRS staff that helped to make it such a success. It's vital to recognise those whose work in sport and physical activity may often go unnoticed, and we hope that all of the winners, highly commended nominees and guests had a memorable and enjoyable evening. We couldn't have done it without the support of our local partners, De Montfort University and the hard work of the staff at the Leicester Arena."

Award Winners and Highly Commended:

  • The LRS Primary PE & Sport Premium Award

Winner: Millfield L.E.A.D Academy, Leicester

Highly Commended: Swallowdale Primary School, Melton

  • The John Buckingham Award for Developing School Sports Associations

Winner: Leicestershire County Netball Association

  • The Hilary Johnson Award for Service to PE & School Sport

Winner: Nigel Williams, Blaby

Highly Commended: Dorothy Orr, North West Leicestershire and Stephanie Magee, Leicester City

  • The Workplace Health Award

Winner: Ashmount School, Charnwood

  • Early Years Physical Activity Award - Most Active Setting Award

Winner: Holmsdale Manor Nursery School, North West Leicestershire

Highly Commended: Ashmount School EYFS, Charnwood and Daisy Chain Children's Nursery, Blaby

  • Early Years Physical Activity Award - Champions Award

Winner: Katherine Mackness – Apple Tree Nursery, Harborough

Winner: Kayleigh Nichols – Orchard End Nursery, Hinckley

  • Early Years Physical Activity Award - Parental/Carer Engagement Award

Winner: Fairfield Preparatory School, Charnwood

Highly Commended: Whetstone Baptist Playgroup, Blaby

  • The Alan Kind Award for contribution to Sport (Over 21)

Winner: Linda Harris, Ibstock United Junior & Youth FC

Highly Commended: Razia Noormahomed - Oadby & Wigston Muslim and Association and Alison Wilcock - Leicester Sharks Swimming Club

  • The Stuart Lindeman Award for contribution to Sport (Under 21)

Winner: David Kennedy, North West Leicestershire

Highly Commended: Beth Kenney, Hinckley & Bosworth and Harry Mathers, Rutland

  • The Peter Walker Memorial Award for Unsung Hero

Winner: Mick Ballard, Barrow Runners

Highly Commended: Ian Crisp, Burbage Cricket Club and Sue Foulkes, Leicester City Ladies FC

Tags: Active Lifestyles, Disability Sport, Featured-bigger, Funding, News, Play Sport